The Miernyk Award for Career Scholarly Achievement was established at the RRI’s 25th anniversary celebration in honor of Professor Emeriti William H. Miernyk, who directed the Institute from its establishment in 1965 until he retired in 1983. The award reads: “in recognition of sustained scholarly productivity, dedication to students, service to scholarly organizations, and enduring commitment to WVU” – four admirable attributes that also characterized the career of Professor Miernyk.

Patrick-C.-Mann Ronald-L.-Lewis  Walter-C.-Labys
Patrick C. Mann, 1990 Ronald L. Lewis, 1995  Walter C. Labys, 2000
Peter-V.-Schaeffer Harris PicMartis2
 Peter V. Schaeffer, 2008 Trevor M. Harris, 2013 Kenneth C. Martis, 2014