Drs. Randall Jackson and Peter Schaeffer

Dr. Randall Jackson, RRI Director, presents the Award for Career Scholarly Achievement to Professor Peter V. Schaeffer, of the Division of Resource Management. Dr. Schaeffer is the fourth recipient of this prestigious award since the award was established at the Institute’s 25th anniversary celebration in honor of the late Professor William H Miernyk. Professor Miernyk directed the Institute from its establishment in 1965 until he retired in 1983.

The Achievement award recognizes individuals whose careers have been marked by sustained scholarly productivity, dedication to doctoral students, service to scholarly organizations and enduring commitment to the Institute and to WVU. Previous recipients include Professors Patrick Mann, Ronald Lewis, and Walter Labys, all of whom attended the award presentation banquet at the new alumni center on October 31. Also in attendance were former Institute directors Andrew Isserman from the University of Illinois, and Luc Anselin, National Academy member and now at Arizona State University. RRI Faculty Affiliate James LeSage attended from Texas State at San Marcos. University of Pittsburgh Professor Frank Giarratani – who received the 1990 Outstanding Alumni Scholar Award – was also in attendance.

Dr. Peter Schaeffer and his wife Patricia

Professor Schaeffer has published widely in journals that span several disciplines. His primary research interests lie in international migration, but he has worked in a variety of topical areas related to regional research. He is dedicated to his students and has served the profession with distinction, including serving as the 2008-2009 President of the Southern Regional Science Association.